Posted by: Amelia | March 23, 2008

Green Thumb Sunday: Sprouts

I ordered some Tom Thumb peas through the mail a few weeks ago and planted them in Jiffy peat pellets.  I planted 20 seeds, but only three have sprouted.  Two of those three are quite healthy looking, though:

pea shoots

I’ll have to plant them soon, because they have roots spurting out every which way.  Still, I’m disappointed that more peas didn’t sprout.  I’ll give them more time, but at some point it’s going to be a lost cause.

I have good news, though. Last year I had a lovely cayenne pepper plant that produced many peppers.  Since some of those pods were still around, and though I hadn’t saved them for seeding purposes I thought, what the heck, let’s see if the seeds grow.  I had three variations:

  1. Seeds from a pod that had spent all winter outside, clinging to the dead branches of the original plant.
  2. Seeds from a pod that I had picked when ripe and dried using a food dehyrator
  3. Seeds from a pod that I had dried in a cool dark place (though I used the dehyrator on it a bit afterwards to remove further moisture).

I planted these seeds into six starter pots.  I marked the pots 1, 2, and 3 according to the system above, but the ink washed away, so now I can’t tell which contained variation #1 and which contained variation #3.  Variation #2 has produced no sprouts, so I guess the full dehydrator treatment must kill the seeds.   But both #1 and #3 (whichever is which) have sprouted:

pepper sprouts

I’ll only need one cayenne plant at the most (I don’t even know if it will be feasible to bring plants with me wherever I end up in June).  But it sure is exciting to see life renew itself!  I’ll have to give away the extras.  Hey, it worked for Kathy at Skippy’s Vegetable Garden last year.

Responses

  1. Bummer that the numbers washed away. Sounds like something that would happen to me, but it’s great that some of them have sprouted.

    Did you use that special powder for the peas?

  2. I didn’t know about the powder until after I planted them, but I ordered some and made a little slurry of it. I gave each pellet a dose of the slurry, but I fear it may be too late to make a difference.

  3. Do you have extra Tom Thumb seeds left over? I’ve been trying to buy them, and everyone is out. I can Paypal you money for seeds if you have some you can send. (This feels shady to type, but oh well!)

  4. Sorry, I planted all I had (I only got 20). And only three sprouted. Sigh.

  5. That’s a bad sprouting rate, too. Wonder what happened. . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

