Posted by: Amelia | March 16, 2008

Green Thumb Sunday: ‘Hello, Goodbye’ Edition

The orchid I bought last fall did well for a while, but over the winter its leaves started to droop.  And by droop, I mean almost totally deflate.  Clearly, my knack for cultivating vegetables does not translate to good caregiving for orchidaceae.  Maybe it’s just that I don’t care as much about plants I can’t eat.  Anyway, last night I decided this poor plant needed to go to a better place.  Naturally, I turned to Craigslist:

Free Orchid to Good Home

Reply to: sale-607762433@craigslist.org
Date: 2008-03-16, 1:27AM EDT

Last fall I bought a lovely orchid at IKEA (yeah, I know) and it did well for a few months. It even recently produced a second flower stem. But its leaves are very droopy, and some (but not all) of the flower buds shrivelled before they opened. In short, I have not been the greatest parent to this plant.

I’m too softhearted to toss the plant in the trash. Would anyone like to take in a poor neglected plant and nurse it back to health? I’ll deliver anywhere in the Harvard/Central area.

And wouldn’t you know, I got about 15 replies by morning.  I chose the “winner” based on whether he or she sounded like a responsible caretaker.  A nice woman from Porter Square came by and picked up the orchid; she seemed to know what was wrong with it, and was optimistic that it could be rehabilitated.  Sure, it was a $13 orchid from IKEA, but it deserves a good life too.

This exchange was not the end of plant life in my apartment, however.  Far from it.  Indeed, my little studio is now home to a shocking number of life forms.

sprouts

I got some supplies for indoor seed starting from Mahoney’s in Brighton because I had ordered some Tom Thumb pea seeds through the mail (more on those next week).  Inspired by a local garden blogger, I bought kale, escarole (aka chicory), spinach, and mesclun seed packets:

seed packets

I graduate this year, and I have no idea where I’ll be going in May/June.  But before I leave I should have some nice greens to eat.  I just hope the weather warms up a little so I can transplant my seedlings into the planters on my fire escape.  It’s getting crowded in here.

Responses

  1. How tender-hearted of you and the plant’s rescuer and would-be rescuers! All deserve a gold star.

  2. I have visited this site on many an occasion now but this post is the 1st one that I have ever commented on.

    Congratulations on such a fine article and site I have found it very helpful and informative – I only wish that there were more out there like this one.

    I never leave empty handed, sometimes I may even be a little disappointed that I may not agree with a post or reply that has been made. But hey! that is life and if every one agreed on the same thing what a boring old world we would live in.

    Keep up the good work and cheers.

  3. hy, i’ve got pics of my new emo haircut
    in http://tinyurl.com/6y6u6s

  4. I stumbled across your blog while searching for “cayenne pepper vodka.”

    I was already a fan before you mentioned Mahoney’s in Brighton, but that made me sit up straight. I’m a Cambridge girl living in Florida, and the Memorial Drive Mahoney’s used to be my second home! They had this huge, gorgeous greenhouse with beautiful live birds and fish among the stunning flowers and plants. I would visit in the winter just to walk around.


Leave a Reply

Categories

