Posted by: Amelia | August 30, 2007

Electronic Deprivation

For the next six days, I will be in a remote location in Canada that has no internet and no telephone or cell phone service. That means no email, no text messages, no googlechat. No LOLcats!

OMG.

I’ve gone a few days here and there without internet, and I’ve done some traveling in foreign countries where I’ve had no cell phone (but phone cards were always plentiful). I think six days may be the longest I’ve been cut off from civilization.

In reality, of course, this will be a fantastic break. The last two weeks of loafing have been great, but I’ve spent a ridiculous amount of mental energy on planning my upcoming move back to Boston in minute detail. The internet and cheap long distance make it easy to obsess and overplan. I think my new landlords have already grown tired of me. They should be grateful I don’t have a Blackberry!

So now it’s cold turkey time; now I can just relax. Dear readers, how would you react to a complete communications cutoff?

Responses

  1. Why would you want to do that to yourself?

    Just kidding.


Leave a Reply

Categories

