Posted by: Amelia | August 2, 2007

A Fine (Pink) Wine

I come from a family that appreciates wine.  They’re not total snobs about it, but they do put thought into their wine selections.  Last month when my dad was visiting, I told him that I – like many here in DC – enjoy drinking rosé in the summer, and he looked a little aghast.  He couldn’t believe a daughter of his would stoop to such oenological nonsense!

But rosés are undeserving of their erstwhile reputations, says the Washingtonian’s wine critic Dave McIntyre:

Rosé got a bad reputation in the 1980s and ’90s from white Zinfandel and “blush” wines that were little more than soda with a kick, an offering for younger drinkers looking to move on from Bud but not yet ready for prime wine. […]

Yet come summer, there may be no better, more companionable wine. Light and refreshing as an aperitif, rosés are also versatile enough to match with summery picnic fare such as olives, fresh cheeses, garlicky dips, and anything with anchovies or shellfish.

Superior technology, such as cold fermentation in stainless-steel vats, has also improved the quality of rosés available, McIntyre says.

It’s not at all surprising that rosé is a mainstay in DC in the summertime.  Blame the climate.  Today, for instance, the temperature will reach nearly 100 degrees.  Current humidity is around 60%, and will only climb.  A cold, fruity, yet dry rosé is the perfect antidote to living in this (much-beloved) swamp.

Responses

  1. My father (and my step mom use to) works for a Wine distributor so you’d think I would known a bit about Wines. HA!

    I gained almost everything I know about wines from the 5 months I worked at Oceana in the Virgin Islands. Several of the people there really got into their wines. I’ve got the wine pour down pretty well which is good considering on more than one occasion I was pouring a $300+ bottle!

    I like Pinot Nior, specifically Trinchero. A mid prized smooth red.

  2. I agree that Trinchero wines are a good bet, especially at a restaurant if other labels are unfamiliar.


Leave a Reply

Categories

