Posted by: Amelia | July 27, 2007

Casual Friday IX

Bits and pieces from the week:

Oh, those crazy fourth-tier candidates.  Wonkette tells me that mentioning Republican presidential candidate Ron Paul on my blog will quadruple my traffic, since Paul has a small but fierce army of rabid supporters.  I’m skeptical, but I did find out some interesting things about Rep. Paul recently.  He was the only representative to vote against the PHONE Act of 2007, which makes Caller ID fraud illegal.  Why?  I have no idea, and I’m not sure he does either.  He issued no statement.  He was also one of only two representatives to vote against a resolution supporting the goals and ideals of Professional Social Work Month and World Social Work Day.  The other nay?  Tom Tancredo, who is also a Republican candidate for president.  Neither candidate issued a statement.  It would be one thing if they were taking a principled stand against symbolic votes or even against social workers (however weird that might be), but my impression is that they’re just ornery.  Oh, and Paul is also against DC voting rights and thinks that 95% of the black men of this city are criminals (via Metroblogging).

The real ‘X-Men for girls’? X-Men. The producer of the sure-to-be-godawful Bratz movie has called the film “X-Men for girls.” Avi Arad, who produced the Fantastic Four and Spider-Man movies, “raised eyebrows in Hollywood when he switched gears from his comic book safety zone to produce the tween-empowerment movie inspired by the freakish dolls with enormous heads. In explaining the move, he insisted that Bratz are ‘X-Men for girls’ – it’s just that their superpowers are singing, fashion, soccer and cheerleading.”  Who wants to be able to walk through walls (Kitty Pryde), control the weather (Storm), or have telepathy, telekinesis, and mastery over pretty much all the forces of nature (Jean Grey) when you could cheerlead instead?!?!

Below the jump, another lolcat and what may be Cailin’s last Toast ever.  Boo hoo!

Responses

  1. Bratz are horrendous. My little cosin loves them, but I suppose their oversized heads are only ludicrous when put into perspective of the previous generation of anorexic barbies…. I’m female and I really like the x-men and so does my kid, and luckily she still has never asked for a bratz doll….

  2. Well, one of the reasons Ron Paul voted against those bills ( I assume) is because he is actually a Libertarian. He believes the least we govern the better off we will be. I agree with him on many many topics. I seem to have a thing for fringe candidates… guess I’m more of an independant thinker than I realize. People need to start being more independant in their thinking and less attached to political titles and party lines.


Leave a Reply

Categories

