Posted by: Amelia | July 17, 2007

Anxiously Awaiting Harry Potter

I pre-ordered my copy of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows last week and will pick it up at the Borders on 18th and L, where this sign is posted in the window:

potter party

Washington, DC has bought more Potter books per capita than any state, according to DCist, so I’m sure it will be a completely crazy party on Friday night. Falls Church was also named the ‘Harry-est’ town by Amazon.com, having sold more copies per capita there than anywhere else in the country. We loves us some Potter around here (and somehow it doesn’t surprise me that many runner-up towns were in my home state of Washington).

Unfortunately, it seems that the book has been leaked on BitTorrent (this link does NOT go to the leaked copy, just a news story). I’m worried that some awful person might show up at the Borders party and shout out the content of the later chapters.  If the traffic I’ve gotten from people searching for “potter epilogue” is any indication, there are a lot of people looking to find out the ending pronto.

I’m also now feeling a little sheepish about my plans to go to the party in the first place. It seems sad to waste a perfectly good Friday night not hitting the DC nightlife scene. But I remember having such a fun time at the Book 5 party four years ago, when children and adults alike dressed up, played Harry Potter trivia, and felt our hearts race as midnight approached. (I was backpacking in Eastern Europe when Book 6 came out and read a large chunk at the bottom of a salt mine near Krakow, such is my obsession).

It’s also my DC BFF’s last weekend here (she of gardening co-conspirator fame), and I probably shouldn’t spend it with my nose in a book. I have resolved to keep my reading to a minimum until she takes off on Sunday. Meaning I will probably finish the book in the wee hours of Monday morning. So until then, I will refuse to look at any spoilers or discussions from the leak-indulgers and speedreaders who finish it by Saturday morning. I myself will follow Pandagon’s calendar for this blog’s radio silence: no discussion until one week after the release.   Hopefully by then I will have gotten over the pain of my housemate’s departure and the Potter series’ end: a double blow, indeed.

Responses

  1. Oh, go to the party. If I didn’t have and 8 month old baby you can bet your booties I’d be at the midnight release party near me!

    Good for you, avoiding spoilers! Where’s the fun in finding out the ending before you get through the story.

  2. Don’t feel sheepish about going. Who cares? It’ll be fun. It’s a book you’re excited about. A long time ago, when I was in school, I was working at a bookstore when the first and second Potter books came out.. The midnight release of the second one was wild! And I’m not just talking kids in PJs. The adults were having a good time too.

    Starting Today
    I See Dc


Leave a Reply

Categories

