Posted by: Amelia | July 3, 2007

Camp Intern Blues

I am sick.  It’s just a cold, and I’m sure I’ll be better soon, but it feels like such a waste of my limited time here in DC.   I’ve been here for about five and a half weeks, and I only have five or six more before I head home and then go back to grad school.  Some blogs (lovingly?) point out this town’s faults, and that’s fine.  It’s a very silly place, but I love it.

DC in the summertime is sometimes referred to as “Camp Intern.”  It’s usually a snide reference, but totally apt in this case. Even though DC is the defining city of my post-college life – I lived here for a year – I can’t call myself a resident anymore.  I’m just a returning camper.  As with summer camp (okay, it was nerd camp) when I was a teenager, I want to pack as much into my time here in DC as possible.  Tomorrow involves three barbecues, fireworks, and a Nats game (which, in turn, involves getting the ugly-fabulous George Washington bobblehead pictured at right!).  Time to hit the NyQuil and get better fast.  Nobody wants to be sick at summer camp.

Responses

  1. Oh no! Feel better, dearest. I’m just getting over a bout of strep myself. And I just requested to be your mom’s friend on the Facebook. 🙂

  2. Also, I just smiley-faced you, and in so doing, eliminated any chance of you ever agreeing to date me. Balls!

  3. Just wanted to ping you and let you know I nominated you for a “Thinking Blogger” Award over at my group blog, Scholars & Rogues. Check it:
    http://scholarsandrogues.wordpress.com/2007/07/04/sr-bestows-thinking-blogger-awards/

    Well deserved, in my opinion.

  4. http://pressposts.com/Politics/Camp-Intern-Blues/

    Submited post on PressPosts.com – “Camp Intern Blues”

  5. Wow, thanks so much! I’m flattered.

  6. Check out my site

    http://www.topix.net/forum/nyc/TFMNK0RTG6AH730OC


Leave a Reply

Categories

