Posted by: Amelia | June 16, 2007

DC State of Mind

Last night was one of the monthly DC blogger happy hours, which I never attended when I lived in DC before, but was always kind of curious about. So, being back in the district and blogging again, I decided to go. I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but it ended up being totally fun – if a little surreal. These are people better known to the world (and to me, obviously) by clever blog titles and wry prose. Imagine a gathering of comic book heroes who have ditched the masks and aliases, shown up in hipster clothes, and ordered several rounds of Yuenglings for each other.

People were convivial, friendly and totally welcoming of the newbie in their midst. I met the alter-egos behind various current and dearly-departed blogs, including Attention Span of a Fly, A Total Waste of Makeup, I Now Pronounce You, Hey Pretty, Speakeasy, Sour N Sweet, Yeah So I’m…, Brunchbird, Roosh V & KathrynOn (ergo First Date DC), Arjewtino, Left of the District, and a lot more whose URLs escape me at the moment. If any of the attendees are reading this right now, I want to say what a pleasure it was to meet you. You’re a very cool posse. I’ll have to crib someone’s DC blogroll and get that up in the sidebar.

In other DC news, some little kids will be screaming for DC voting rights today. I hope this tactic works not only because DC deserves equal representation in Congress, but because it would be kind of awesome if little kids screaming at Senators became a regular method of political protest.

Responses

  1. Hey there. I came across your post randomly using the tagsurfer on WordPress, and I saw you mention the HH on Friday night. I just moved to DC on Friday, and by the time I actually arrived on Friday night, I was too wasted to go to the HH. I’ve kind of had a weird up and down experience with blogging, but have decided to give it another go. Maybe we’ll meet at an upcoming blogger happy hour!

  2. great to meet you – will see you at the next one!


Leave a Reply

Categories

