Posted by: Amelia | June 9, 2007

Humor on the Hill

The Washington Post’s “The Sleuth” blog has a fun little informal interview with Senator Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn. Klobuchar has apparently been judged by her peers to be the funniest freshman senator (a title that Al Franken assuredly has a lock on if he joins her in the Minnesota delegation). Humor, I think, is an important asset for politicians, and women politicians in particular. Women are probably more likely than men to encounter subtle and not-so-subtle intimidation tactics, double standards, or outright boorishness, and humor can be a great way to diffuse the tension without breaking off dialogue altogether or coming across as a harridan. Hurrah for Klobuchar for bringing the funny. My favorite bit of the interview:

KLOBUCHAR: My husband is the first man to consistently be involved in the Senate Spouses group.

SLEUTH: So while you’re working on immigration and global warming, he’s having lunch with the First Lady?

KLOBUCHAR: He was the only man to be involved in the planning of the First Lady luncheon. He got to sit at the head table because of this.

I knew things were getting out of hand when [Sen.] Claire McCaskill and I were driving out of the Senate one day and we looked out the window and we see my husband. And he’s carrying this pink box. And she said, ‘Isn’t that your husband?’ I said, ‘Yeah, I don’t know what he’s doing here.’ We called him over and it’s a baby present. I said, ‘What are you doing?’ He said, ‘Well I’m here for a Senate Spouse event. It’s Jim Webb’s wife’s baby shower. At that moment I thought – this was a great victory for women.

Of course Claire yelled out the window, ‘That is the sexiest thing I’ve ever seen.’ [laughter] So we have a good time.

Responses

  1. […] Humor on the Hill […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

