Posted by: Amelia | May 29, 2007

The Farm Team

I started work today and got a better sense of what I’ll be doing this summer. For the most part, I will be compiling background information on candidates using LexisNexis and other search tools. The women’s campaign organization that I am interning for supports women candidates at all levels of government, so my background research may touch upon the unknown and far-flung. This, to me, is the best part. Political careers begin at the local level in most cases. If we’re going to get more Congresswomen and state executives in the long term, pumping up the local numbers is key.

As for the White House, I am certainly very excited about having the first viable female candidate among the most-likelies. I really do think Clinton can win the nomination and the presidency. But whether or not she is elected, the question remains of who will replace her as our next great hope. How long will we have to wait for another viable female contender to come along? Who will be the first to do so without the boost of being married to a former president? Well, it’s probably someone out there who is currently just running for county auditor or mayor or state rep. Or city council, like this inspiring lady who spoke the women’s campaign training program I just finished.

I can’t wait to meet the rest of the farm team.

Responses

  1. Thanks for the link to the women’s training program. I’m impressed with the range of experiences and ambitions the women have.

  2. What’s with “farm”?


Leave a Reply

Categories

