Posted by: Amelia | May 20, 2007

Hello, My Name Is [redacted]

A blogger friend of mine recently wondered whether he ought to, upon his impending graduation from college, start blogging anonymously:

So should I start another blog, one where I can be fabulously anonymous and rejoin the blogosphere from points unknown … ? Or should I keep this, and just resign myself to the kind of career where incriminating oneself is a blessing rather than a curse – like, say, academia or writing?

Though I do not currently have plans for incriminating behavior, I’ve wondered the same thing. In one week, I will head down to Washington, DC to start my internship with a prominent Democratic women’s organization, thanks in part to financial support from the Women and Public Policy Program. One stipulation of the funding is that I keep a blog during the internship – hardly a tall order, since I have blogged before and am delighted to have an excuse to do so again. I’m also supposed to recruit 25 regular readers, which would pretty much quintuple the readership of my earlier blogs.

Unlike my earlier blogs, I’ve decided to keep things anonymous – or semi-anonymous, at the very least. If you’re reading this post, you’re probably a friend, classmate, or close blood relation of mine. So in all likelihood, everyone reading this blog knows who I am. That’s fine. But I think a little anonymity might be a good thing, particularly this summer when I leave the confines of graduate school and enter the “real world” of political employment. If someday in the distant future someone bothers to dig up my identity, I hope it’s because I’ve become some hotshot politico myself.

For now, I am more than happy to be a lowly research intern. This will be the first time I’ve had a job that so clearly serves my feminist political gospel. It’s about time I started contributing instead of just proselytizing. As for DC itself, well, that town really got under my skin last year. I can’t wait to get back.

Leave a Reply

Categories

